Let’s look after me

image

I went for a run last night, it’s been about a month since ive been so really sore today 😩. I didn’t realise how much I missed it, I think I need to make sure I have time to go at least once a week, especially while the weather is still fine. It’s great for clearing your head and getting out of the house.

I first started running last year. It was something I always wanted to do but never thought I could do it, I barely walk places, always take the car and have no fitness ability at all.. Me and my friend just run up and down the coast beside our house, which is 5k and a beautiful route. With having 2 kids under 5 I don’t get a lot of time to myself, so I usually get the kids in bed and head out at about 8 pm. In the summer this is amazing, and the views and coast line are gorgeous,  in the winter it’s bitter cold and is so pitch black it looks like a horror movie  😱

I started originally because I wanted my body back after having my son, we had decided no more kids, I wanted to feel fit and healthy and run around with my kids.  I had joined slimming world about a month before and was loosing weight but wanted to exercise too. I also wanted something for me, some time to focus on myself and to get out for a bit.

After we had been running for a while we decided to aim for something, so we entered a 10k race. We completed this in July of this year raising £285 for Macmillan in the process. It was an amazing day and I totally got the bug, I love the freedom of running and the atmosphere of a race. I wanted to do more, our aim is to enter the GNR next year and complete some more 10k races alongside our training.

All this was before my diagnosis,  this was me 2 stone lighter and the fittest I’d been in years. So why in the last month have I been totally off track?

My MS hasn’t changed me as a person, it has given me more to think about tho. I want to be as fit and healthy as I can be for as long as possible.  I want to run for as long as I can, I want to take care of my body so I’m as strong and in the best shape I can be. But most of all i just want to be the me I was before.

This isn’t really about my MS I suppose,  it’s just my life and what I want to do and MS won’t get in the way of that if I don’t let it.

When MS was very first mentioned by the Dr I thought there was no way it could be, I knew very little about it but thought of people tired and with mobility issues and that was not me. I remember telling my running partner and saying “it can’t be, people with MS don’t run!” Well I do and I will carry on as long as possible. 

Look out for more medals 👟🏃

Leave a Reply

