Is sharing caring? Or not worth the hassle?

image

I’m never sure if I should share my diagnosis with people, I have obviously told family and close friends. Work now know as I’m going back from maternity leave soon, but how much do people share? And is it worth it?

I’m just wondering if it’s better for the world to know or not? I feel like it’s not a secret and im not embarrassed, so why shouldn’t people know? But on the other hand it feels private and none of people’s business. I don’t want to be the topic of conversation or be pitied and treated differently. I’m not even sure why either of these things are an issue, it’s just something that is playing on my mind right now.

I’m just at the stage of finding out how to incorporate MS into my life right now, taking extra vitamins, eating better (mostly) and exercise are all I can do other than my treatment right now, but now life has settled down is it better to explain the little things where MS shows or hide it?

My right hand is weak, my fingers don’t do as they are told sometimes,  holding a pen is harder than it should be, I slam things down rather than place them and I drop things – a lot. Do I just say I’m clumsy? Should I bother explaining? As this tends to lead to a whole long conversation that I don’t always want to have.

When these things first started happening, before I was diagnosed, I got the feeling people didn’t quite believe me and maybe thought I was exaggerating or being a drama queen. Talking about these ‘weird’ new symptoms I had and how things had stopped working properly. Maybe as I made light of it and wasn’t poorly or they got bored of it they thought that. This puts me off talking about it, I don’t like feeling like that, so it’s easier not to fill people in.

I’m not sure which is best right now, I suppose I’ll find out one way or the other.

Life is moving……. best get back on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

